“This train is bound for glory.”

I watched Big Easy Express tonight. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, go watch the trailer. It’s Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeroes, Mumford & Sons and Old Crow Medicine Show on a train. Playing concerts. And hanging out. And playing music. And drinking. And doing wonderful, wonderful things.

Image

It reminded me (as if I had forgotten) exactly why I love music. Those jam sessions, people soaking in music with their eyes closed, train yards filled with the sounds of guitars and accordions. Granted, the last one was something I didn’t even know I wanted. 

It’s a wonderful movie. Let’s put it this way: it’s full of insanely talented people, colorful personalities, goose-bump-filled performances and lots of hippies. 

I talked a lot too much on the way home, rehashing camp memories from three years ago. Words flying out of my mouth, hands whirring about, eyes widening. My chest hurts a little bit when I think about camp — two weeks at a creative writing workshop, nestled into Lewis & Clark College campus in Portland, Oregon. Perfection, to say the absolute least. 

I encourage every lover of music (especially folk-y stuff) to watch this movie. I was singing, beaming, laughing and “mmmm”-ing the entire time. It’s time well spent. 

(photo not mine: found here)

Leave a Reply

