Singing in The Lifeboats

I have felt like Beeker for most of this semester. If you don’t know what that means, just look at the image and use your imagination.

beeker

Things are starting calm down now, though. I’m currently a weird mixture of excited, terrified, disenchanted, exhausted, curious and nostalgic. Why? Because I only have three semesters left of college.

I only have three semesters left of college.
I only have three semesters left of college.
(once more, with feeling)
I only have three semesters left of college.

This semester was probably one of the hardest of my collegiate experience thus far. I won’t rehash all the gritty details. Those close to me know what I’m talking about, and that’s really all that matters. It was a storm of coursework, personal shortcomings, circumstances out of my control and (probably) not seeing my dog since May.

Have no fear: I am on the mend. I asked for help where I hadn’t before. I drank more tea and less Red Bull (usually). I actually slept. Support came from all directions. Some were surprising, some tried and true. It is amazing what strong friendship and unconditional love can do for a human in need.

Regardless, I am here to finish out my semester strong. It sounds like too little too late, and it might be, but for me, for my life, for where I am in the cosmic scheme of things, it is going to be a fight. A struggle. A teeth-bared, claws-out, heels-in kind of sprint to the end.

Okay, that was a little melodramatic. But I really am going to have to fight. And everyone knows that all good fighters need to rally. And (maybe slightly) fewer people know that it is only possibly to rally with a list of inspirational quotes and motivational media. I know I am not the only one who needs a pick-me-up. So here is my “Finishing Fall” rally:

  1. “Opportunity follows struggle. It follows effort. It follows hard work. It doesn’t come before.” — Shelby Steele
  2. The struggle itself towards the heights is enough to fill a man’s heart. One must imagine Sisyphus happy.” — Albert Camus
  3. “Don’t feel entitled to anything you didn’t sweat and struggle for.” — Marian Wright Edelman
  4. Kid President’s Pep Talk.
  5. This Vine of a girl dressed as a cupcake.
  6. Smiling at cute humans and having them smile back.
  7. Hank Green having an adorable meltdown about how weird time is. 
  8. Puppies.
  9. Babies.
  10. And, finally: Neil deGrasse Tyson’s Most Astounding Fact

I hope you are all on the up-and-up. If you’re not, watch this .gif of a red panda eating sushi for five minutes, repeat the list and check back. These things take time. It’s okay to not be okay.

3 thoughts on “Singing in The Lifeboats

Leave a Reply

