Tunesday: The Radio Lives On

Welcome to the first installment of Tunesday. Without waxing poetic about my love of music, here’s the gist: my three songs “of the moment.” It doesn’t have to be a new song or a new performance, but simply a jam I’ve been jamming to more than usual. I am going to try to stay away from covers, but I make no promises.

The catch? It can’t be a studio version.

I’m hoping that this will push not only me to find more genuine, talented musicians, but will push you, dear readers, to start a dialogue with me about what makes music great.

And here. We. Go:

1. “Brother” by Matt Corby, as performed for Triple J radio

This version of Brother just gets me. For starters, Corby is Australian. And beautiful. And painfully talented. Further, I love hearing true songwriters talk about the inspiration behind their music. It’s intriguing to me: I can write poems, but I am useless when it comes to lyrics. Something gets lost in translation, and I’m always in awe of the way that singer-songwriters can synthesize notes and chords and words and harmonies.

2. “She Keeps Me Warm” by Mary Lambert, as performed for KEXP

This song, y’all. THIS SONG. The lyrics are saccharine sweet and just as irresistible. They make me want to fall in love more than I already do. Lambert’s voice is effortless and true blue, and I love hearing the song expanded from just the hook of Macklemore’s “Same Love.” KEXP is one of my favorite sources for non-studio music because they always seem to bring in talent, not simply big names.

3. “Chocolate” by The 1975, as performed for 3FM Radio at Lowlands 

Matty Healy makes my world go ’round on most days. The album version of this track is poppy and upbeat and makes my roommates and me want to dance in our kitchen. This acoustic version with only one of the four band members, is heartbreaking. Matty’s voice is raw, and the lyrics are given the chance to stand on their own rather than get crowded out by a fun dance beat.

I hope you check out the songs above as well as the artists themselves. Make your own Tunesday list and share it with me! Let’s start a weekly appreciation of genuine, unfiltered music. Shall we?

One thought on “Tunesday: The Radio Lives On

Leave a Reply

