A Second Try at Anger

I’m sorry I posted about killing men.
I’m sorry for lumping my dad, my brother, my roommate, my friends in to the nameless humans who have caused me to feel unsafe.
I’m sorry I couldn’t find a better way to word what I was feeling,
but I’m not sorry for my feelings.

I was fuming and angry and wanted everyone to know the experiences that women face. Most days it’s manageable, but it’s always there: a never-ending barrage of microaggressions, harassment and unchecked male privilege.

Each “to every man” in a previous post happened to me, personally. Don’t try to tell me I’m unfairly representing men when I have had someone pretend to jerk off on me. Do not try that.

I am a cis white woman, and I know my struggle is not close to women of color, queer women or women with disabilities. I know I have privilege, and I know that means my voice is not shushed as readily as some of my sisters.

Since my last post about dealing with male privilege didn’t go over well, I’m handing over the reins to people who have successfully put into words what I’m feeling. Maybe it’ll help. Maybe not.

  • Trial by Twitter by Ariel Levy (published Aug. 5, 2013 in The New Yorker)
    • “Worldwide, women between fifteen and forty-four are more likely to be injured or die from male violence than from traffic accidents, cancer, malaria, and the effects of war combined. This sustained brutality would be impossible without a culture that enables it: a value system in which women are currency, and sex is something that men get—or take—from them.”
  • Cassandra Among The Creeps by Rebecca Solnit (published Oct. 2014 in Harper’s)
    • “Not uncommonly, when a woman says something that impugns a man, particularly a powerful one (not a black one unless he’s just been nominated for the Supreme Court by a Republican president), or an institution, especially if it has to do with sex, the response will question not just the facts of her assertion but her capacity to speak and her right to do so.”
  • The MRAs Are Outraged by The Frogman (published on his blog after the UCSB shooting)
    • “You say not all men are monsters? Imagine a bowl of M&Ms. 10% of them are poisoned. Go ahead. Eat a handful. Not all M&Ms are poison.”
  • This entire blog: http://whoneedsfeminism.tumblr.com/

Screen Shot 2014-10-18 at 2.45.51 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-16 at 12.38.23 AM

(the above images found on Tumblr)

I’m still not sure if this is the right thing to do. I know there will always be people who dislike having their privilege point out, and I also know I didn’t exactly go about presenting my story and opinions correctly before.

I apologize if my post made you feel angry or uncomfortable or attacked.
I don’t apologize for my feelings.
I don’t apologize for feeling like my only defense these days is to bite back.

Leave a Reply

